Posted by: andamarya | January 11, 2010

My Christmas Holiday

Christmas is my favourite holiday and that’ s why I thought to tell you how I spend it. For me Christmas is very special because it’ s time for giving and exchanging gifts between my membres of family and friends. In general Christmas represents peace, happines and stillness.

In my village preparation for Christmas starts on 5 December when people are thinking about which presents and another things they need for Christmas Eve.

In our village there are many persons who know to cook different dish of meat from pig wich was sacrificed before Christmas. We are recognized by our specific preparations.

Before Christmas Eve, me and my mother clean up the house , we are coking different cakes and different specialities of food. On the Christmas Eve, togheter with my family we are decorating the Christmas Tree. After that children came to sing carols which in our village have a different name: ” Viflaimul” , this is a special tradition and describes the Birth of Jesus.

The boys with " Viflaimul" in Romania

Another tradition is  ” Steaua”. This tradition is kept for remembering the star wich announced that Jesus came on the Earth.

Steaua - the boys with The Star in Romania

Young boys late at night start to go from house to house to sing carols and differit songs. They are accompanied by three players.

Young boys late at night start to go from house to house to sing carols and differit songs. They are accompanied by three players. Romania

In every house young boys dance with the girls in an unique style. The next day we go to church and we pray. Then for two evenings we go to dance and drink hot wine with cinnamon.

"Feciorii satului"- the boys of the village, Romania

On the New Year’ s Eve I meet with all my friends and we go to a party together and we drink a glass of champagne and we say each another ” Happy New Year! “. The party is over in the morning. I think you understand why Christmas is my favourite holiday. I spend a lot of time with my family and my friends. Finally I want to wish you a

Happy New Year!!!

//Anda Badacean

Responses

  1. You have very nice and interesting traditions of your village. Have never heard of “Viflaimul” before. Have not heard about the dance tradition, either. Is it only in your village these traditions for? Or is there even in other parts of Romania? 😉

    Really nice pictures showing what you describe with words. What is your village name? Is it far from Simleu Silvaniei? pictures showing what you describe with words. What is your village? It is far from Simleu Silvaniei?


Thank you for your comment! // Christin@

Categories

